HDMI Signal cutting in and out when ran through receiver, HELP!

rekbatani68

Auditioning
Real Name
Rez
Hello Everyone,
I'm fairly new to home audio and video but my situation is a bit complicated.
In our home theatre system we have an HDMI plug running between the receiver station and the projector station, unfortunately when it was installed there was far too little slack on either end, about 1 ft of slack on either side.
Because of this I've had to buy couplers, Radioshack brand, to attach additional HDMI cables so the cables could reach my units.
My situation at the moment is as follows. I currently have these three components Im trying to run in unison:
1. Sony A/V Receiver STR-DH520
2. Optoma HD 66 projector
3. Sony Blue Ray BDP-S185 DVD player.
When I plug my DVD player directly into the projector line I do receive a signal but I see very small white sparkling particles... These are not dust, they are from the picture.
However, when I plug the DVD player into my receiver the signal cuts in and out constantly, the white sparkles are super visible and all over the screen. Moreover the HDMI light on the receiver continues to blink. Sometimes the signal isn't even picked up by the projector at all!
So my question is how do I fix this problem? I've tried google, I've searched the forum, but no one seems to have a similar scenario. any information anyone on this forum can help me with would be greatly appreciated !

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
About how long is the HDMI cable that runs from the receiver area to the projector? If it's much over 20-25' then the quality of the cable does come into play, and it's possible that you will need to replace it with a beefier cable that you know is high-speed.