HD TV and Surround System

Raider81

Auditioning
Real Name
Chris
Newbie here!!

I recently purchased a Samsung 56inch DLP 1080i

My question is on how to hook up and what cables to buy for my equiptment?

1. What cables do I get to hook up the TV to the HD box(direct tv)

2. What cables do I use(purchase) to hook up the TV to my Receiver(Sony STR DA 1E5)

3. Do I ned to run cables from my receiver to my HD box???

Subwoofer question:

My theater room is 15x 10 (basement). I currently have a Boston Accoustics pv500 subwooferhttp://www.bostonacoustics.com/home_...&category_id=6. It seems to not have the BIG BOOM type effect when watching movies ie.. explosions and such?? Is the Sub to small for the room or are my settings wrong???

PS. I'm not into professional installation. I enjoy learning and doing the hook-ups on my own

Thanks for the help

corona13

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
michael
1. What cables do I get to hook up the TV to the HD box(direct tv)

Most likely an HDMI if your Directv has it. If not, component viedo. Also, you will hook up the DirectTV (OUT) to the TV (IN). Very simply, look at the back of your DirecTV box. Look for HDMI. If you see it, buy an HDMI cable. Plug one end into the DirecTV HDMI and the other end to the HDMI Video INPUT 1 on the back of your TV. Your all set!

2. What cables do I use(purchase) to hook up the TV to my Receiver(Sony STR DA 1E5)

no need to hook up you receiver to you TV unless (1) your reciever has a setup menu you can view on your TV, in which case you can just use a composite cable, or (2) If you are going to be using any video "switching." If you are going to switch video components (DVD, directv box, etc...) through your reciever, you would hook up HDMI or component from (OUT) Directv box to (IN) Reciever, (OUT) DVD player (IN) receiver. Than you will hook up HDMI or component (OUT) reciever (IN) TV.