HD to my computer monitor?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Wes, Jul 20, 2004.

  1. Wes

    Wes Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah USA
    Real Name:
    Wes Peterson
    Can I run my standalone OTA HD tuner (VGA out)to my computer monitor and have it sync to 720p or 1080i?

    Wes
     
  2. Wes

    Wes Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah USA
    Real Name:
    Wes Peterson
    Any one out there tried this yet?

    Wes
     
  3. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, with a Sony GDM-FW900 (24" 16:10 widescreen CRT) and it's awesome; HD in its full 1080 glory. I've never tried it with a 4:3 monitor though. It should sync, but I guess it depends on whether the monitor will squeeze the picture down enough so that it is the right aspect ratio.

    One other thing: the gamma curve for a monitor is different than a TV. Greys go to black faster, so I would say that the picture is just a little darker overall, and if the scene is primarily shadow, it's pretty dark. This is mostly a problem with shows filmed like The X-Files, i.e. mostly dramas. Sports, sitcoms, shows set in Hawaii: no problem.
     
  4. Tony Kwong

    Tony Kwong Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is very monitor dependent as it would sync differently to the signals. I have an old SUN, sgi and Sony that all sync perfectly to 1035i, 1080i and 720p via RGBHV.
     

Share This Page