HD question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Anthony Moore, Jul 8, 2002.

1. Anthony Moore

Anthony Moore Supporting Actor

I will soon purchase an HDTV (probably the Sony Grand Wega) and have a few questions.

I know they are "newbie" questions, but Ive never really wandered to the VIDEO side of the HTF before.

1. What equiptment will I need to get HD TV shows? Can I use the regular DirecTV dish? And what about the reciever? Does it need to be HD also?

2. Which DVD's will fill up the whole 16:9 set? 1:1:85? 1:2.35? Anamorphic only? And what about the one's that dont? Are there black bars then?

3. When I do get HDTV reception, will all HD shows/movies (on HBO, Discovery, HDNet, etc..) fill up the whole 16:9 screen and be correct?

4. When I watch regular TV, 4:3, on it, how does it look? Does it stretch the image out? Does it look good?

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Jonathan Smith

Jonathan Smith Stunt Coordinator

I am pretty new to the video side of things myself, but I think I can answer your questions:

1. You need an elliptical dish and an HD receiver.

2. There will be small black bars unless the DVD is done in 16:9 (I don't think there are any that are?) They will be much smaller than the ones on a 4:3 set would be.

3. HD is broadcast in 16:9, so HD shows will fill the entire screen.

4. That is one of the important factors in choosing your TV. You can watch 4:3 shows in 4:3, but then you get bars on the sides and risk burn in (you can do a search for burn in and find all kinds of info on this forum). There is also a stretch mode that will make the 4:3 broadcast fill the whole screen, and you should look at a bunch of TVs to see which one does that in a way that is least objectionable to you.

3. Anthony Moore

4. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer