HD LOTR on rogers, is it 5.1?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Elliott Willschick, Oct 5, 2002.

  1. Elliott Willschick

    Elliott Willschick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was going to order LOTR in HD for a viewing I was planning at my home. I have Rogers HD on cable. However if it's not 5.1 I'll watch it myself sometime and show the DVD. Does anyone know?

    Thanks
     
  2. James FT

    James FT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was watching it last night on Bell and it is not in 5.1 and I do not know why they do that,but I believe it got something to do with the bandwidth that the 5.1 occupies. I would surmise Rogers would be the same because even though they are different names the sorces I believe is TMN
     
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    it' much more likely that your cable company doesn't rent non-HD boxes with digital out, so they see no reason to pass it
     
  4. Elliott Willschick

    Elliott Willschick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    They do have the odd letterboxed movie with 5.1 but I have yet to order an HD movie. I guess I'll wait and see it myself. For some of my friends who haven't seen it, I would prefer they hear the great sound than see it in HD.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page