What's new

HD-DVD Players? (1 Viewer)

mikey ra

Stunt Coordinator
Hello All!

I'm new to the HD-DVD party discussion, but I do have a question. Other than Toshiba, are there any other companies that will be releasing HD-DVD players in the near future (obviously not Sony - but what about LG, Panasonic, Pioneer)? I see that Samsung and Sony have/will be releasing Blu-Ray players before 2006 is history, what about HD-DVD?

Austan

Second Unit
Real Name
austan nguyen
RCA has a rebadged Toshiba HD-A1. There's news of upcoming Samsung and LG combo players. But if you think $1000 is high, just imagine the extra cost of a HD-DVD laser along side a Blu-Ray laser.

I beleive that Pioneer and Sony might be going Blu-Ray exclusive as Toshiba is going HD-DVD exclusive. (for now that is, things might change in the future)

Rob_HD

Stunt Coordinator
Why would one buy the BD player yet, when there's nothing but junk Mpeg2 releases with tons of artifacting to play on them?

Get the HD DVD player now and enjoy HD optical a year early, as it will be a long time before BD prices and quality will match it...

Samsung have also confirmed this week that they are working on a hybrid player which will play both formats.

http://www.hdtvoice.com/voice/showth...threadid=26183

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
If you feel the need, I’ll link to some reviews of Blu-Ray software from members (that I consider credible—you may not) that are a far cry from the emotive and pejorative statements in that comment.

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Ha, ha. Emotions are running high immediately - and the 'facts' suffer.

There isn't a combo player yet, but why would the little bit of extra hardware cost so much? It isn't the price of an extra laser (if necessary) that most decisively will influence the price of the final product (as Lew would like to point out: licenses may ;) ).

But we simply have to wait and see.