HD audio on older equipment?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by pearlyred, Aug 22, 2006.

1. pearlyred

pearlyred Extra

Hi all,

My first post in these forums, I'm kinda new to the HT scene, mainly due to having family commitments etc that prevent me splashing out cash on the gear. Anyhoo, I try to get something every now and again when I see something I really like and its not too expensive (which means its never cutting edge, but thats ok).

I just recently bought a new projector, a Panasonic PT-AE900E. This is my first piece of visual gear above a standard tv and I have to say I absolutely love it!! Got a really good deal on it, good discount on the PJ with an almost free screen and a spare bulb at 25% of the normal price. Am spending a LOT of cash on dvd rentals, I just cant watch enough movies on this thing its great! The laptop looks pretty cool through it too, and the PS2 on a 100" screen is great for beer nights [​IMG]

Anyway, to the point.. I'm currently running my audio through a Harmon Kardon AVR130 receiver. This has been superb so far for what i've used it for (had it about 2 yrs now). Unfortunately this has no HDMI abilities as its not that new now, but I'm wondering if when I purchase a HD-DVD/BD player in the future am I still going to be limited to the standard Dolby Digital/DTS or is there some way I can tap in to this uncompressed PCM audio or some other enhanced format? I'm guessing that the receiver wont be able to handle any of the new TrueHD/Super DTS kinda sounds..

Am I stuck with the plain DD/DTS unless I buy a new receiver, or will even just the standard formats be better on these HD discs?

Appreciate any advise from you experts..

PR

2. RobertDW

RobertDW Stunt Coordinator

If your Harmon Kardon AVR130 receiver has analog inputs then the Toshiba HD DVD player with it's built in decoder will decode the new audio like DD+ and TrueHD and output them as PCM. The BD players don't have the decoders.

3. pearlyred

pearlyred Extra