1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

HD and the PTL300U

Discussion in 'Displays' started by DarrinH, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. DarrinH

    DarrinH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This pj has half of the resolution of HD (did I say that right)?
    Meaning if I have Direct TVHD going into this pj by DVI it has to downscale the picture to display on the screen?
    This pj does have DVI correct?
    My future sat receiver will have DVI.

    I am shakey on this and I am trying to put things in order for a future HD system.

    Where I am at there is no and will never be OTA HD (pretty safe to say). So my only option is Direct TV HD.
    I know I will need the oval dish, extra LNB's and a receiver.
    I have a Sony XBR400 which will accept 1080i, 480p?, 720p?
    So I can use my tv before I get a pj.
     
  2. Brian Schucher

    Brian Schucher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the 300 does indeed have a DVI port but its not going to help you with a STB. The DVI on the 300 is NOT HDCP compiant. The PJ will scale whatever you put itno it to its native resolution which is referred to as 1/4 HD. Half the horizontal and half the vertical.. You can send the 720p or 1080I signal from a STB to the 300 via component inputs though..
     
  3. DarrinH

    DarrinH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So the scale is a scale down in total number of pixels, right?
    The 1/4 HD helps what, the appearance of the picture?
    I mean whats the advantage to this vs say 33% HD?
    Good to know about the component connection, those cables are easier to make for a long run.[​IMG]
     
  4. Brian Schucher

    Brian Schucher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My understanding is that its much easier for the sclaer in the 300U to scale equally in half..than to some oher resolution..
     
  5. DarrinH

    DarrinH Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone running this pj with HD now?
    What are you impressions?
     
  6. Brian Schucher

    Brian Schucher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2000
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its excellent. To be totally honest with you, I dont see any difference between it and my Toshiba 65HX81 RPTV which does 1080i natively. I havent been able to hook them both up at the same time since i only have one HD STB (DST3000) but from memory it looks no worse... My only issue with it is that when fed the 1080i signal from my STB i get a very small 1-2" border around the entire image. There is a thread about this over on AVS and I dont think anyone has come up with why its there..
     
  7. Robert James Clark

    Robert James Clark Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've seen the 300u displaying HD.

    It does an excellent job.
     

Share This Page