Having wiring video trouble with my kenwood vr-509 please help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by todd stone, Dec 29, 2001.

  1. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went and bought a component cable from radio shack today. I hooked the 3 inputs into my receiver and the other 3 into my wega.

    Now, when I plug my XBOX into the DVD IN on my receiver it works fine, BUT when I also plug my Playstation2 in the VIDEO 3 component input on the receiver, there is no display on the tv. I am also on video 3 mode on my wega..

    What is wrong?? The whole reason I bought this receiver was so i could plug both my xbox and playstation 2 component hookups in it, and have the component out goin to my wega, since my wega only has 1 component in.

    Please help.
     
  2. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well holy crap, I figured it out myself. [​IMG]
    I had to register the components it seems. I could not find the manual to do this and had to figure it out off hand, then i remembered i could have visited kenwoods site [​IMG]
     
  3. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    crap, actually I have a problem....

    I got both displays to work BUT because the ps2 is hooked into the video 3 component on my receiver I am not getting any sound.

    What do I do?
     
  4. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm i seemed to have narrowed it down. if i hook the optical into video 3 it works, but not with the av cables hmmm
     
  5. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i ran out and bought a 2nd optical cable and I now have sound on both. Seems the standard av cable wasnt working on the 2nd connection for whatever reason.
     
  6. Joe_Brown

    Joe_Brown Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    todd do u work for WRQK? lol
     
  7. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL, yea it seemed as if i was talking to myself [​IMG] I just kept posting updates as I went along [​IMG]
     
  8. Vin

    Vin Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. Joe_Brown

    Joe_Brown Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    todd are u a DJ for wrqk.......short guys? lol......
     
  10. todd stone

    todd stone Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    joe what do you mean?
     
  11. Dan Hine

    Dan Hine Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Todd,

    Just a guess here but I think the reason you were getting sound from your PS2 using the optical cable and not the AV cables would be b/c your receiver was setup to use the digital input and NOT the analog inputs. I'm not sure what receiver you have but I know I have made this mistake before on my Sony.

    Dan Hine
     

Share This Page