Having Cox & a PS2 connection is not good...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Calvin Watts III, Aug 29, 2002.

  1. Calvin Watts III

    Calvin Watts III Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having serious problems getting online with the PS2.
    I called into Cox, & they were of no help at all.
    I was able to figure out, by trial,error, & some luck, my internet settings.
    Now I'm online, but i can't send my info to Sony.
    Therefore I can't play any of Sony's games.
    Has anyone else run into this sort of trouble, & can anyone help out?

    Calvin
     
  2. Rob Speicher

    Rob Speicher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What kind of settings, like DNS servers? Just plug the modem directly into your NIC, go to a dos window and do

    ipconfig /renew (if needed)
    ipconfig /all
     
  3. Calvin Watts III

    Calvin Watts III Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, after calling back Cox - I got somebody to finally help me out - & I'm online (I hope).
    Anyways, I need to reset my cable modem each time I switch between my iMac & my PS2.
    Or I was told I could get another IP address & that would take care of that.
    If the resetting of the cable modem works, I'll stick with that for now.
    Any suggestions?
    BTW - Rob, thanks for trying to help [​IMG]
    Calvin
     
  4. Chad Ellinger

    Chad Ellinger Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you need a router. This will allow you to split your cable modem connection between your iMac and your PS2 and use both simultaneously. Expect to pay around $40-70 for one. There are many good threads in the Computer/HTPC Forum about how to set it up.
    http://www.buy.com/retail/computers/...ry.asp?loc=413
     
  5. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Indeed. I'm using a Netgear router hanging off of my Cox cable modem, and have had zero problems getting my PS2 online and connected to wherever I want...
     
  6. Calvin Watts III

    Calvin Watts III Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now let me get this straight...
    (this helps avoid "discussions" with the other half)

    If I go out & get a router - I won't need to get another IP address?
    Meaning I can split my current connection 2 ways without one?

    If that is the case, then I'd save money in the long run...I think.

    I'm also going to eventually take the Xbox online, & maybe another computer. So I'd need a 4-port one - I'm guessing.

    EDIT: - One last thing - my Cox rep told me that in order to currently switch between my PS2 & my iMac, I have to reset the cable modem each time. With a router, since I'd be able to have all of my things using the same info (DNS,IP addy,etc.) I wouldn't have to do that anymore,yes?

    Need to get my facts straight before I go spending more cash..

    Anyways - I'll take a look. Again,thanks.
     
  7. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Just so you know come cable companies consider that a violation of the terms and agreements if you use a router without telling them and paying extra for the other connections. very similar to splitting the cable that comes into your house. Aparently some cable companies arent like this, but you want to be careful.
     
  10. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  11. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Camp is right!
     
  12. Josh Lowe

    Josh Lowe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  13. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you work for Cox Josh?
     
  14. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't vouch for Josh, but since Cox has been to my place several times and seen my router setup, I can say that at least the Omaha branch doesn't have a problem with it...
     
  15. Calvin Watts III

    Calvin Watts III Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went out today & got a router.
    Camp, you were right, it was really easy.
    Thanks everyone for your help.
    I appreciate it.
    Seeya online!

    Calvin
     
  16. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool! Now you can kill 'real' people! [​IMG]
     
  17. Josh Lowe

    Josh Lowe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page