Have HDdigital cable box using component hook up & getting small pic

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by RayKk, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. RayKk

    RayKk Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a HD digital cable box using the component hook ups and Im getting a smaller picture on my regular channels, I get regular full screen when I use the composite and s video hook ups, so I have the component and composite s video hooked into their own jacks and switch back and forth on my Sony 36 XBR-450, is this right or am I doing something wrong,
    I new to this stuff and thought component would handle all
    Thanks
    Ray Kk
     
  2. Jeffrey R

    Jeffrey R Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The component connection is required to pass the HD signal, but when non-HD material is shown through the component inputs, the TV puts bars on all four sides of the screen, shrinking the picture. For non-HD material, you should watch using S-Video or composite, and switch the input on the TV. You have set it up correctly. I am using an HD cable box on the 43" Sony 4:3 HDTV, and I use S-Video for the non-HD channels.
     
  3. RayKk

    RayKk Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your input Jeff, I do have it setup the ways you say and now I am satisfied.
    Thanks
    Ray Kk
     

Share This Page