Have 1 wire for rear surround for 7.1 ,but have two speakers. Can I splice into wire

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Debra F, Jul 30, 2003.

  1. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have 1 wire for rear surround for 7.1 ,but have two speakers. Can I splice into wire and have both rear surrounds wired?

    I'm not talking about the sides .


    Reciever Denon 3802.


    This wire goes thru the walls ( all of them do) and making new holes is out for my friend. My fiiend wants the same ( 7.1 ) setup as I ,but when they ran the wire somehow they forgot and only ran one set for the rear surround.


    Anyway this can be done?

    Speakers are Polk RTi28

    Debra


    speaker picture here
     
  2. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would highly reccomend looking into just routing a second wire. there's a variety of tricks that you can search the internet for for making the task easier.

    outside of that, just get him to live with a 6.1 system. in all honesty I can't imagine him missing out on much considering the lack of content provided in 7.1.

    now then, some alternateives that have some potential to nuke your system are:

    use the existing wire as your "hot" connections and use a common ground in the house as ground (make sure to connect both the recievers ground and the speakers ground to the "common" ground). this would allow for the true 7.1 with only the one wire. I really don't like this route however, it has perhaps the best potential for causing damage to something.

    next up is that you can attach both outputs to the wire and the attach the wire to both speakers. I would have to be in a better state of thought to work out the circuit to see if there would be any problems, but off the top of my head I believe you'd be fine hooking it up like this.however this will only yield a uber 6.1 setup. the two speakers will put out the same sound thus being no better than any other 6.1 setup. . . but there'd be two speakers back there so you can always BS your friends.

    well there's some starting thoughts for you.
    tell us how it turns out and best of luck.
     
  3. Ryan*Pr*

    Ryan*Pr* Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another alternative would be to use it as 6.1 with the 2 rears wired in series. This way you will still get sound from 7 speakers.
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
     
  5. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We are aware that it's 6.1 and the rears output the same signal

    He wants both speakers for the rear to even out the sound with sides , due to the room is kind of big.

    Just not sure on how to wired it in series or if this would harm anything.


    Ps: Only have denon 3802 to wok with

    Thanks again :>
     
  6. Justin Ward

    Justin Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Speaker is 8ohm

    So load is easier on reciever if the ohm is higher, correct?


    So if wired in series it would be 16 ohms, correct?

    Now, if wired this way , would the volume be cut in half , sound lower?

    If yes, adjusting volume via reciever, can we make the rear sound just as loud as side surrounds?

    Thanks a billion for all the replies[​IMG]

    D
     
  8. Justin Ward

    Justin Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure what woudl happen to the volume. At the most you might be down 3dB which wouldn't be hard to adjust for.
     
  9. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. Mark gas

    Mark gas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you wired the speakers to 16 ohms you yould get 1/2 the power 3 db less but you would gain 3 db buy 2x the cone area from the 2 speakers so output would be the same.
     
  11. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great...

    Wiring in series it will be [​IMG] Will use RS SPL meter to check sound level via reciever. Have AVIA Also.

    What kind of demos are on the "Explore Our World DVD Demo Disc "?

    Are there alot 5.1 scenes to show friends and family? Any 6.1 demos on this disk?

    Thanks so much to all for replying[​IMG]

    Debra
     
  12. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Many of the previously released DD-5.1 Movie Trailers in Dolby Labs 1st Demo DVD, ... "We've Got the Whole World Listening" are included including 2 NEW Dolby Digital EX trailers, although no additional DD-5.1 music. Some of trailers include the Making of segment or text history background. I can be more specific when I get home and look @ the DVD!

    Dolby's DVD graphic living room display and test tone DVD Remote Control Ergonomic Access Interface is far superior to Sound & Vision HT Tune-up DVD which I also have.

    NOTE: AVIA does not have 6.1 test tones - & I have that one too!

    NOTE 2: Dolby Labs does not have Video Calibration Screens or filters.

    Phil
     
  13. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phil Iturralde

    Great info!

    I should have remembered the AVIA not having the 6.1.- I used it for my setup awhile back.

    He'll have to use my RS SPL meter and adjust volume via reciever.

    Looking forward for some info on the DVD. Thanks a bunch!

    Debra
     
  14. Debra F

    Debra F Agent

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also posted on another site and this guy ( very nice of him)Richard posted a drawing of another option.

    Check it out, quite interesting for anyone who runs into
    problem.

    DebraHere..See bottom of thread...
     
  15. Justin Ward

    Justin Ward Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The S&V Home Theater Tune Up Disc has tests for 6.1 systems. Which should also work for 7.1, I believe so anyway.
     
  16. Phil Iturralde

    Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 1998
    Messages:
    1,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page