Have $1,000 budget for speakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DavidSugar, Oct 24, 2002.

1. DavidSugar

DavidSugar Auditioning

Oct 24, 2002
    I am new to home theater, and will be doing a complete system. I know absolutely nothing about speakers. I have been reading the forum for several weeks and need some help, which is appreciated.

The room is approximatley 23 x 15. I am looking seriously into a 55 - 60 inch HDTV, probably a Mitsubishi. I will also be purchasing a DVD player, I am told progressive scan is a must, and a surround receiver. Based on what I have read on this forum, I assume I will need 2 front, 2 rear, a center speaker and a subwoffer.

The purpose of the room will be about 50 percent movies and 50 percent TV. I sure we will also listen to music, but we are not serious music listeners. When we do listen it is usually soft rock, oldies music (60's 70's etc).

While I am flexible, it seems that a package such as infinity HTS-20 might work for me. This would of course be easier as you get 6 matached speakers. However, I am open to suggetions of individual components, but I am worried that a salesman will not match then properly.

I would like to purchase at Abt Electronics in Chicago if I can, as I get really good pricing at that store, and they stand behind their products (replaced a double oven that didn't quite work, no questions asked, the customer is always right). They carry a lot of brands, but push Bose.

I am also flexible on the price, the $1,000 is not an absolute maximum. If I could get a lot more for $100 - 300 more I would be open to susggestions. However, I would be hesitant to go beyond $1,500 as we are not serious music lovers.

Thanks to all in advance, David
  2. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

Mar 10, 2001
    Well here are few options I would consider:

JBL Studio Series- S-Center, S38 and S26 plus an SVS 20-39PCi sub. This sub can only be ordered online.