What's new

Hassle-free way to get the most out of your used DVDs ? (1 Viewer)

Deepak Shenoy

Supporting Actor
I used to be a very active trader here during the early days of DVD but due to time and other constraints I haven't been very proactive in getting rid of DVDs I didn't want any more. In fact I have let these unwanted DVDs pile up over several years promising myself I would eventually get rid of them somehow.

When I finally got around to looking for ways to dispose of them (not for free of course) I was in for a rude shock. My, haven't things changed a lot in the used DVD world ? Even the DVDPlanet Quotemachine that I had used in the past to get rid of older versions of titles I have double-dipped on, doesn't want anything but the latest and greatest version of each title. Not to forget the fact that all the titles that I paid over $20 for in the early days (most notably the Paramount titles) are selling for $6 in the Walmart bargain bin these days and I would be lucky to get $2 for these.

Clearly I am trying to avoid the hassle of listing titles separately on e-bay and shipping them separately. But at the same time I want to get the most I can out of the DVDs that I have spent my hard-earned $$ on. Have we reached a point where the only place for used DVDs is the trash bin ? It almost doesn't seem worth the effort to try to sell this stuff. Any comments or suggestions ?

-D

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Great question Deepak.

Without a doubt, the landscape for selling/trading/disposing of used DVDs is constantly evolving. One example...look at the number of transactions over each of the past few years here on the HTF:

While hardware trades are also included in the Good Trader's List, I'd estimate that 96-97% of the trades listed involve software.