What's new

Has anyone tried the Pro System Selector (component switcher)? (1 Viewer)

Dave F

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 15, 1999
Messages
2,885
Has anyone here tried the Pro System Selector (component switcher)? It is powered, so my initial thought was that it was an active switcher rather than a passive switch. However, I didn't notice that it also acted as an ethernet switch, so perhaps that would account for the power.

If it is passive, this could be a pretty sweet deal since it acts as a component switcher, an optical audio switch, and also consolidates the network cabling.

-Dave
 

GlenHaag

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
973
Yep. I've had mine for a few months now.

I really like the device. The only thing that it lacks is a remote control, other than that I've been very happy with the component and digital audio switching, as well as the ethernet switching.

I really needed something like this seeing as how I had 5 component devices with my Sat rec, my DVD player, my Xbox, my Gamecube and my PS2.

It's done it's job quite nicely.

Glen
 

Dave F

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 15, 1999
Messages
2,885
Glen, have you passed a 720p or 1080i input through it? Also, am I correct in thinking that the ethernet switch is 10/100?

I'm really torn between this and the Audio Authority 1154. The AA has a reputation for great quality, and has 4 optical inputs, but only 4 component inputs is a drag. Having seven would be a comfortable fit.

Thanks,

-Dave
 

GlenHaag

Supporting Actor
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Messages
973
Yep, my HDTV DirecTV reciever was passing a 1080i signal through it, and my Xbox was passing a 720P signal through it.

I didn't have any issues with either of them.

Glen
 

JoshuaL

Grip
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
17
Does anyone know of any pictures of the back of this unit? I haven't been able to find any, and I'd like to before I buy it. Also, does it handle digital coax audio or just optical?
 

Carlo Medina

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 31, 1997
Messages
12,942
Sweet! Right now I'm an XBox house. But my girlfriend and I just gifted each other a GameCube + games for XMas, and her brother (with whom we share an apt.) is getting a PS2 for XMas. I will definitely be needing this as my DTV only has 2 component inputs and 1 is devoted to the DVD player.
 

Sean Moon

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2001
Messages
2,041
It has three optical, three ethernet, seven s video/composite/component switches on the back, and a hidden eigth component input on the front. It does not do digital coax though. Best Buy sells these in stores and there is a pic of the back on the top of the box.

It also comes in black and silver flavors.
 

JoshuaL

Grip
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
17
Too bad about the lack of coax digital. I wonder if using the composite video input for coax digital audio would work? Anybody see a problem with that? I found the following picture online of the back of the unit, but the forum won't let me post the actual URL (GRRRR!!!). It's:

www dot consoleaccessories dot com/unv004.asp?img=b#largeimg
 

Jarrett_L

Auditioning
Joined
Dec 6, 2003
Messages
3
I have one, and think it is awesome :) Just what the doctor ordered for passing my Xbox, DVD, computer, gamecube signals all to my overhead projector!

Only thing lacking, as someone said, is a remote.

Highly recommended.

Jarrett
 

Carlo Medina

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 31, 1997
Messages
12,942
Thanks for the mini-reviews. The lack of remote isn't a biggie as I gotta get up to power on each system anyway.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
351,446
Messages
4,953,232
Members
143,054
Latest member
lukeholland
Recent bookmarks
0
Top