What's new

has anyone here ever... (1 Viewer)

Mark Schermerhorn

Second Unit
...just quit your job to travel or do volunteer work for 6 months to a year? I've been thinking about this for several years, back to when I was in college too (it would most likely be volunteer work). I guess working full time til I retire seems...really boring, even though I basically like my job and it pays well (I'm an electrical engineer). The only thing I worry about is finding a job when I "return" from whatever I was doing. Anyone have experience with this?

Doug_H

Supporting Actor
Mark
About 4 years ago I was at a point where work had run me into the ground. I went out an bought a bass boat and hit the water here in Texas for 6 months.
when I decided to it was time to find a job I did so with high energy and a clear mind. It was the best thing I ever did for myself.
------------------
The Mischievous Rogue Strikes Again! The Humble Hanson Theater

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
Mark, how long have you worked there, if you still like your job and you have some kind of tenure (i,e. they still like you) have you thought about taking a "leave of absence"?
BTW, good for you, I think time off for such a good purpose is great. Let us know how it works out.
Jay
------------------
HUGBEES! Link Removed
Rider in the 2001 Alaska AIDS Vaccine Ride
Wanna Link Removed

Mark Schermerhorn

Second Unit
Jay, I've been there a little over a year, starting not too long after I graduated from college in May of last year. I've considered a LOA, I haven't asked anyone because if I do this it won't be for another 1 - 2 years, most likely. The longest LOA I know of that someone pulled off here is 2 months, and I know of another person who just quit to write a novel, which he figured would take him a year.
In the meantime I have to decide if I'm going to buy a house and a few other major decisions...fortunatly none of them involve women at the moment...hehe

Luc

Stunt Coordinator
Mark,