Harman Kardon or Onkyo?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Scott Moeller, Feb 8, 2005.

1. Scott Moeller

Scott Moeller Auditioning

Hi, I am a newbie looking for some advice. I am putting together a home theater for a friend. Which of these receivers listed below would be the best choice? The Harman Kadon or the Onkyo? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Harman Kardon AVR 635 7.1 Channels Receiver

Onkyo TX-NR801 or TXNR901 7.1 Channels Receiver

2. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

Welcome to Home Theater Forum, Scott.

You originally posted this in the Home Theater Builder section. That area is reserved for discussions about stories and reviews that appear in the magazine. Here -- Receivers/Amps -- is where you want to ask this question.

3. Adil M

Adil M Supporting Actor

I would go w/ the AVR635 or wait on the Onkyo 802 or 902.

As a note some people are disliking the "Auto DSP" function of the HK. For example during the Superbowl People were using their HK in 7.1 Logic 7, but every time a commercial came on it switched to 5.1, but did not switch back to 7.1 when the Superbowl action restarted.
    Will HK fix this? Who knows?

Spec-wise the HK has great Dac's and a killer amp section. Go to your local Circuit to listen to them, b/c they should have both HK and Onkyo units.

4. John S

John S Producer

Both comparable.. Pick the one you like best for sure.

5. Scott Moeller

Oops, sorry about poting in the wrong section.