Harman Kardon AVR 220 Receiver and Harmon Kardon HKTS5 Speaker SystemCombo

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tony Mc, Feb 2, 2002.

1. Tony Mc

Tony Mc Stunt Coordinator

I've just purchased the H/K 220 receiver and the H/K HKTS 5 speaker system online and am awaiting their arrival. I listened to both but they were setup in a wide-open area of a showroom, and just music CDs were listened to, not DVDs. I know that this was not the best environment to gauge HT equipment performance. The setup did sound good though. Since I am a newbie to HT, I wanted to know what others opinions are on this purchase. I've read the reviews of both items and they receive good ratings. Just that I haven't heard any comments when both components are matched up.

Thanks to all for any words of wisdom on this purchase.

Tony

2. KyleRoussel

KyleRoussel Stunt Coordinator

[​IMG]
    I just started a thread asking opinions on the HK 320 and the HKTS 10's! I can get a sweeeeeeeeet deal on them (or anything HK for that matter) and I just want to make sure that I'm making a wise decision here. You say that the 220 with HKTS 5's sound good? But just how good? [​IMG]

3. Tony Mc

As I said in my post, the H/K 220 and H/K HKTS-5 speakers had a nice sound. Unfortunately, the two systems were set-up in an open area at a Circuit City. And I also only listened to music Cds. But based on my previous knowledge of Harman Kardon and the sound that the HKTS-5 put out, I made a decision to purchase both systems. Hopefully I made a wise choice.

What prices are you getting on the H/K 320 and the HKTS-5 speakers?

4. KyleRoussel

KyleRoussel Stunt Coordinator

My brother works for a distributor of HK/JBL/Infinity products (no, I can't afford infinity, at least I don't think [​IMG] ) and I can get the stuff for -50%. Pretty sweet huh? I was also looking at a set of JBL speakers but I tend to want to keep everything HK for some reason...

5. Tony Mc