Hard Drive reformat and Partitioning Question for Win XP.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Gregg Loewen, Dec 27, 2003.

  1. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    Hi guys

    My laptop has been running very slowly and it was suggested to me that I do a fresh install of XP Pro. Anyways...

    The 40Gig HD was partitioned and I wanted to remove this. During the XP install process I was able to delete the partitioned drive (d[​IMG] and then fresly installed XP on drive C.

    Now drive C is indicated as having 29 gigs of memory and my previous programs are still in place. ????

    How can I delete EVERYTHING and start over?

    Im at my wits end over this, and have now reinstalled XP 4 times over the past day. help me please!!!

    Thanks in advance.

    Gregg
     
  2. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    You need to delete both the C and D partitions and create a new single C partition. Otherwise, you won't be able to use the space where D was. You should be able to do that as part of the install process, when it is showing the blue DOS-style install screens.
     
  3. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    hi Joe,

    When I get to the blus setup screen it states:

    c: drive partitioned
    and then the 9446 (or whatever) megs of unused space - (this is the D: partition that I already removed,

    I then highlight the c: drive option and try to delete which takes me to another screen saying it cant delete the c partition as it is in use by setup files.

    help??

    Gregg
     
  4. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    hi

    Im going to move this to the TV area so I will hopefully get a faster response / resolution to my problem.

    I use this laptop for calibration work so, yes, this question is fit for the TV/ Projector area (or maybe Im just using my power of executive previledge ) :)

    Thanks in advance and seasons greetings,

    Gregg
     
  5. Chris_HA

    Chris_HA Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greg don't install the setup files from CD to your HD. Instead, boot from CD and install from there. Make sure that your computer is set to read from CD boot device before the main HD, otherwise it will try to boot from HD.
     
  6. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    Chris,
    that sounds great...now...how do I do that?

    thanks

    Gregg
     
  7. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    4,659
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Gregg - Chris is right about installing directly from the CD. You need to go into your laptops CMOS configuration and change the boot device order so that it looks at your CDROM drive before the floppy or HD. You do this on most systems by pressing F2 or DEL during the POST (Power On Self Test) before the computer actually starts loading the OS. You should see instructions on how do get into system setup on the splash screen displayed while the system is checking hardware. Once there, look for an item like "Boot Devices" or "System Startup". Simply move the CDROM drive to the first postion in the list of boot devices and the system will boot directly from the XP install CD. You should then be able to completely delete the existing HD partition table, create a new C: partition from the entire HD, and do the fresh XP install. Good luck!
     
  8. Chris_HA

    Chris_HA Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Doug, you beat me to the punch. Greg, if you don't see any text information in the boot screen (Memory check/size, etc) to indicate what key you need to press to get into the CMOS or BIOS (same thing) or have a picture boot screen (like some Dell's do) try hitting the escape key. That will usually present the info you need. Once in there, look for IDE setup and something similiar. You will be looking for a way to change the BOOT ORDER. YMMV, every computer is a little different.

    Hope that helps!

    Chris
     
  9. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    thank you!!!!

    I placed W XP in the CD drive and hit F12 on boot up which pulls up a boot order screen, then selected CD -Rom. It is looking good so far. Ill post some more in a few minutes.

    Thanks again!!
     
  10. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    yes yes yes!!!

    It accepted the new partition as being 38 gigs and is now formating.

    Thank you once again,

    Gregg
     
  11. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    4,659
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Awesome Gregg! Sounds like you've got it licked. Keep us "posted" (pun intended).
     
  12. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    Gregg, great that you got it working. I'm glad we could help. I'll take credit for the diagnosis and give credit for the cure to the other guys.

    Just don't forget the next time you come to FL to do calibrations after I get a new TV (hopefully in the next year or so). [​IMG]
     
  13. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    hi guys!!

    I have reinstalled a bunch of stuff and all is working well.

    Thanks again!!!

    Gregg
     
  14. Chris_HA

    Chris_HA Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greg, glad to lend a hand!
     
  15. dpippel

    dpippel HTF Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    4,659
    Likes Received:
    1,070
    Location:
    Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
    Real Name:
    Doug
    Good news! Now get back to work. [​IMG]
     
  16. HarryS

    HarryS Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the future, you can use a program called partition magic. It will allow you to manipulate partitions, add, delete, merge etc.
     

Share This Page