1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Hard and Soft boot for DSS Receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Trevor Schell, Jun 29, 2002.

  1. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi!,,

    Just need some direction on how to perform both, the hard and soft boot procedures for a DSS Receiver.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Jeremy Little

    Jeremy Little Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Soft boot is to hold the down arrow and the Power at the same time and hold for a few seconds (maybe up to 10, can't remember)It will power off.

    Hard boot is kinda funny, unplug the thing for a few minutes and then plug back in. :b

    These may not be completely right, I worked for DirecTV about 5 years ago and I think this is what we had them do.
     
  3. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jeremy..

    The Soft boot sounds correct. The hard boot is correct in the sense that you unplug the unit, however there is a procedure to follow once it is plugged back in.
    That's were I need assistance now..
    The soft boot was unsucesssful for me.

    Anybody have information on the complete Hard boot?

    Thanks,
     
  4. Jed M

    Jed M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When my toshiba dst3000 gets unplugged and plugged back in it automatically goes through the installation process. I take it yours does not do this?
     
  5. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the RCA receiver that I am trying to figure out.

    Thanks,
     
  6. StanT

    StanT Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an RCA unit. The few times I have had problems, I was able to unplug the unit, plug it back in, and turn it on. It's always worked for me. Past that, I'd have to call Direct.
     

Share This Page