Hard and Soft boot for DSS Receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Trevor Schell, Jun 29, 2002.

  1. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!,,

    Just need some direction on how to perform both, the hard and soft boot procedures for a DSS Receiver.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Jeremy Little

    Jeremy Little Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Soft boot is to hold the down arrow and the Power at the same time and hold for a few seconds (maybe up to 10, can't remember)It will power off.

    Hard boot is kinda funny, unplug the thing for a few minutes and then plug back in. :b

    These may not be completely right, I worked for DirecTV about 5 years ago and I think this is what we had them do.
     
  3. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jeremy..

    The Soft boot sounds correct. The hard boot is correct in the sense that you unplug the unit, however there is a procedure to follow once it is plugged back in.
    That's were I need assistance now..
    The soft boot was unsucesssful for me.

    Anybody have information on the complete Hard boot?

    Thanks,
     
  4. Jed M

    Jed M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    When my toshiba dst3000 gets unplugged and plugged back in it automatically goes through the installation process. I take it yours does not do this?
     
  5. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the RCA receiver that I am trying to figure out.

    Thanks,
     
  6. StanT

    StanT Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an RCA unit. The few times I have had problems, I was able to unplug the unit, plug it back in, and turn it on. It's always worked for me. Past that, I'd have to call Direct.
     

Share This Page