Hanging Def Tech BP2 surrounds - need advice

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Kevin_W, Jul 26, 2003.

1. Kevin_W

Kevin_W Second Unit

Grettings,

I've got a pair of BP2's and they've been on stands for a few years now and its time I get them mounted to the wall. I just checked with a stud finder today and found no stud in the area that they need to mounted... just drywall. Each speaker weighs 11 pounds according to their website. Are there drywall anchors that will support 11 pounds? Or more importantly, will drywall alone hold that much weight?

Thanks in advance,
    Kevin

2. Robert McClanahan

Robert McClanahan Stunt Coordinator

Kevin,Molly's will work just fine.Very inexpensive and they will hold alot of weight.Studs are far more preferable though.Are you going to run the wire in the wall?If so I can give you some advice on that.I do it for a living. [​IMG]

3. Kevin_W

Kevin_W Second Unit

Thanks Robert, thats good news.

And yes, I will be running speaker cable up through the wall. Since I dont have access directly under the wall. I am going to have to run the cable down inside the wall then out the baseboard. The cable currently comes up from the basement (where the floor is accessable) a few feet away from each speaker but hidden under the carpet. Does this sound about right?

Thanks for your time,
    Kevin

4. Robert McClanahan

Robert McClanahan Stunt Coordinator