Handsome Newbie Seeks HTiB/Cable Recommendations

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by BrianMAZ, Apr 1, 2004.

1. BrianMAZ

BrianMAZ Auditioning

Hello my great friends. I plan on buying a home theater system and would very much appreciate any recommendation or advice that could be given based on my numerous questions. I am a poor student so I plan to buy a HTiB system, even though I've heard many a nasty thing about most of them. I've never experienced digital surround sound anywhere but inside a theater, however, so I don't think I'll be too hard to please. I'm hoping to not spend more than $300, but based on my wanderings through this forum it appears that the Onkyo HTiB's (760, 660, 650) in the $400-500 range offer the largest amount of bang per dollar. I'd also have to buy speaker stands for these since they're too big to fit on my TV stand, so I'd end up paying almost 300 smackaroos more than I originally planned. The room I'm going to be using is of average size, however the actual area they will occupy will be pretty small, going across the width of the room. I imagine I'll be about four feet away from the front soundstage, and three feet away from the surrounds. Would a system with relatively (to the little speakers that come with most HTiB) large speakers like those of the Onkyo HTiBs over-power this small area, or is it just a matter of how I adjust the volume? I'd most like to know if anyone could recommend me a HTiB system around $300 with small, bookshelf speakers that don't sound like clock radios. I realize it has bigger speakers, but the Kenwood HTB 506 is $300, and that seemed to get good feedback in an earlier post. I have a DVD player ($75 Samsung S221 I bought a year ago) but I wouldn't mind getting another one since most of the HTiBs I've seen are packaged with them.