H/K AVR230 or 330...Any user reviews yet?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Rick Westfall, Oct 25, 2003.

1. Rick Westfall

Rick Westfall Stunt Coordinator

Anyone have a new H/K yet? I'm anxious to see a user review.

Rick

2. MikeKG

MikeKG Auditioning

Hi Rick, My new H/K 230 will arive tomorrow ... can't wait.

I'm new to 5.1 ( upgrading from prologic) however if I find anything I like or don't like I'll post back to this thread.

Mike

3. ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

I own the 225 and i'm very curious wether upgrading to the 230 would be a much better option. Extra channel, some more features... newer look... I wonder....

4. MikeKG

MikeKG Auditioning

Chris , I went with the 230 over the 225 for the added channel and the small cost difference . My HC-6's got here friday so I've been listening to them, even if only in stereo with the old amp. I think I made the right choice there . Like I said in the above post I'll report if I find anything that stands out as a drawback or if there is a standout feature that I like.

Keep in mind I'm going from pro-logic to 6.1 so any improvement to me will be fantastic.

Mike

5. Bill Polley

Bill Polley Second Unit

Perfect thread! I am looking for a budget Receiver for my in-laws...considering the AVR 130. It looks to be about the same as the AVR 230, but with 5 less watts/channel, and less current capability. I am giving them my old speakers and sub, and the H/K would be a great compliment. Right now they have a Sharp pro logic boombox type all in one unit with terrible sharp speakers. While my Klipsch Quintets are not top notch, they are a big improvement for them. My sub is a 12" powered Advent that is older, and nowhere near as good as my SVS, but it goes well with the Quintets.

Anyone have the AVR 130, or have anything else for about $300 that is a good bang for the buck?

6. MikeKG

MikeKG Auditioning