H/K 520 X-over change

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jedd, May 13, 2002.

  1. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it possible to do it without having any kind of TV?
    I can't find my way trough. [​IMG]
     
  2. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you enter the OSD, do you see it on the faceplate?

    Does it say OSD ON? If so:

    Does the 520 manual show the Master Menu as the following?

    Input Setup

    Surround Setup

    Speaker Setup

    Output Adjust

    Channel Adjust

    Multi-room

    Advanced

    Exit

    In this order? If so:

    Does the speaker setup manual graphic look like this?

    Left/Right

    Center

    Surround

    Subwoofer

    Sub X-Over Freq

    Return to Menu

    In this order? If so:

    You are going to have to count clicks on the menu control ring and then press set looking for confirmation on the display that you hit the right Menu and Sub Menu selections.

    It is tiresome but it should become easier once you learn the locations. Remember that front speaker size setting limits your choices to 80Hz, 100Hz for Small and 40Hz, 60Hz for Large.

    Because the 520 can handle 7.1 with extra amping, the menu is likely to be different. That's why you are going to have to rely on the manual and trial and error to get you through.

    Good Luck.
     
  3. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    quote:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Does the 520 manual show the Master Menu as the following?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    What do you mean? Display says "OSD ON" and no matter what I press it keep saying this. (until i hit osd button again)

    Jedd,

    I'm referring to the MANUAL, not the OSD on the faceplate. If the Master Setup Menu chart in the MANUAL reads as I previously posted, get back to me. We'll count clicks. If for some unknown reason you don't have the 520 MANUAL you can download it from Harman...Come to think of it, I should do this as well so we won't be talking past each other. (I own the 510)
     
  5. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh, now I get it. :b

    The Matser Menu is the same with 510,

    the speaker setup is slightly different:

    Left/Right

    Center

    Surround

    Surr Back

    Subwoofer

    Speaker Reset

    Sub X-Over Freq

    Return to Menu

    So, I should go to OSD mode, guess the number of clicks and press SET button.

    Will I see some sort of confirmation on the faceplate display? (it seem to be locked by "OSD ON" message)
     
  6. Paul Clarke

    Paul Clarke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Jedd,

    No, you won't see the OSD change to the next menu you enter...the faceplate display does change when you use a direct function button surrounding the navigator ring...so you'll just have to get the clicks right. It always defaults to the top of any menu list so the first step after hitting OSD is to count 2 clicks down...press set...now you're in the speaker setup menu...6 clicks down and you're good to go...press set and you will be in the X-over frequency selection line. There is no way of knowing without a TV hookup what setting is being applied so you'll have to experiment with the sound. It can only be 1 of 2 depending on how your speaker selection is set-up. I assume you already know how to change a selection and how to get out of any menu should you lose track of where you are. Study the manual menu charts till you know them like the back of your hand. After awhile, it becomes easy. I do this myself when I've turned off the center display. Good Luck.
     
  7. AntonS

    AntonS Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can always make a macro for that too.

    Are you sure you really need changing crossover frequency? I mean, this setting is related to physical characteristics of your speakers, which don't change. I would set it once to the frequency where your mains start to roll off, and then just adjust the sub level to you liking. The level is memorized and also can be changed easily with the remote.
     
  8. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just want to know what it's set to. [​IMG]
    Thanks for help, I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page