H/K 520. Pre-outs volume

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jedd, Mar 21, 2002.

  1. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed that when I change the volume on my receiver - it affects the level of the signal running through the preouts. Does it really matter what volume to keep receiver at, in this case?
     
  2. henning hoffmann

    henning hoffmann Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 1999
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pre-outs are supposed to change like that. What are you using them for?
     
  3. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, right now my L/R go into separate amp...
     
  4. RobP

    RobP Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not like I worried too much about it. Just was curious if all other receivers do the same with the preout signal.
    Somehow I thought that preout means lowlevel constant signal, which you can change through amp only. :b
    If it has more flexebility then that, I really don't mind. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. David John

    David John Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The pre-amp is supposed to adjust the volume level.

    That is one of its functions.

    The amplifiers in a receiver are not adjustable as with a separate amp. (gain)

    The pre-amp adjusts the signal that goes to the amps.

    so if you use the pre-amp outs from your receiver going to any external amp, it will adjust the level going to the amp.

    This is the way they all work.

    Same with a dedicated pre/pro, it adjusts the level that goes the the separate amp.
     
  7. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    David, thanks!
     
  8. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jedd: To add just one more thing...

    As stated by all above, your 520 is doing eaxctly as it should. If you want a pre-amp level output that is not adjustable, look to the tape related outputs, such as VCRs and plain old cassette decks. These outputs are not adjustable and are tied directly to the level of the input signal. (BTW, these outputs will only be as left and right. No 5 channel connections here.)
     

Share This Page