Guys, I need you to recommend a hub for my game systems ...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Frederick, Oct 9, 2002.

  1. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this is a PC question or a gaming hardware question, but I'm going to post it here because it's about hooking my game systems up to my router ...

    I currently have a 4-port router, of which 3 ports are being used 2 PC's and a laptop. I'm going to go broadband on my PS2, XBox and GameCube, so I'm going to need a hub because I only have one free port left. Can any of you guys recommend an inexpensive hub to use?


    Freddy C.
     
  2. Dave Sabo

    Dave Sabo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using a Netgear hub myself... nothing special, was priced right and has worked flawlessly for me. I'm using this one currently along with my Linksys router.
    If you're looking for something with a little growing room you could go with the 8 port version, buy.com has it for $56.05 here.
    Both of those models have an uplink.
    Of course there's probably nothing wrong with the Lynksys ones either if you're concerned whether they match cosmetically or not. I think they even have a 5port hub that looks just like the router.
     
  3. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool. The Netgear one looks like exactly what I need. I'm just going to use it for gaming. Thanx, Dave ...



    Freddy C.
     
  4. GlenHaag

    GlenHaag Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Linksys is also a good brand for an affordable price.

    But, you can't go wrong with Netgear either.

    Glen
     
  5. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got a little 4 port netgear router, had zero troubles with it.
     
  6. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Netgear, had too many weird issues with Linksys.

    Also I would recommend spending a little bit more and getting a switch instead of a hub.
     
  7. Frederick

    Frederick Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 1999
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, my router is a Linksys, and I've had zero problems from it. But Kelly, why would you recommend a switch instead of a hub?


    Freddy C.
     
  8. DonRoeber

    DonRoeber Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Generally, a switch is a better because it creates a seperate path for each datastream. However, you're never going to run into a problem using a hub,becuase your data rates are so low, and the chances are miniscule that you'll be using more than two ports at any given time. Save your money, go with the hub.

    I always prefer Netgear products to Linksys. I've had too many Linksys quirks to deal with. However, Netgear doesn't yet make anything like the WET11, which I'm going to use when it's time to put my consoles on the network.
     
  9. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  10. Oscar Saenz

    Oscar Saenz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 1999
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently use this switcher from NetGear and have not had any problems. I have my Dreamcast, XBox, GCN, and PS2 hooked up to the switcher which is hooked up to my Linksys Router. So far, so good...
     
  11. Masood Ali

    Masood Ali Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just bought a 5-port 10/100 Switch (Linksys), mated to my 4-port Netgear router, and both work flawlessly with each other.

    I normally recommend Netgear exclusively for routers, but for switches and hubs, you won't notice a difference either way.
     
  12. James St

    James St Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Linksys 10/100 5 port switcher (EZXS55W Ver. 2) in my living room as well. It has worked flawlessly for me.
     

Share This Page