Guide

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Donny_B, Apr 20, 2003.

  1. Donny_B

    Donny_B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Folks, I just completed my HTPC. It includes an ATI All-in-Wonder 8500DV card with IR remote, Sound Blaster card, NIC card and I'm using a 15" LCD monitor w/extention so I could me it around. My question is about the Gemstar Software that comes with the ATI card. The Gemstar seems to be useless to me because I suscribe to Directv. How do I get the listing to download? Is there other software I could get that is better? Other than that I'm pleased with my setup. I'll be happy to answer any questions....db
     
  2. Donny_B

    Donny_B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BUMP!
     
  3. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you are in the same boat I'm in, since I've recently gotten rid of cable I've been using DirectTV as well. Gemstar guide has absolutly no use with DirecTV and I doubt it ever will.

    my adive is to hit up TV-guide.com for channel listings or just use the directTV guide in the box. there is no solid method of getting your DirectTV box and computer to talk to eachother.

    the best method I have found for recording shows is to set the auto channel change on my box to coincide with the computers recording timer. this seems to work fairly well, but is a complete pain in my hide for recording shows. . . so much so I tend not to bother.
     
  4. Donny_B

    Donny_B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rob, Thanks for the reply. I seems like such a waste. All in all I happy with the system. I had a hard time getting the DVD rom to play a a dvd all the way through. It kept freezing up. I downoaded the updated drivers. I'm also trying to get the TV to flow more better. There seems to be a bit of a delay. Do you know how to fix this. Thanks....db
     
  5. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, perhaps. . . but for a good diagnosis, I need to know the specifications of your computer. hardware and software being used.

    skipping during play is usually the sign of background programs. before my current computer, I used a PIII with a hauppuage TV card, would work wonderfully as long as it was the only thing running, so something like that may be your problem.

    although if the delay you are talking about is if you run the computer next to your real TV and tune them to the same channel, then that delay is normal. it is caused by the ATI card compressing the TV broadcast so that you can use the TIVO like functions (pause, rewind, etc).
     

Share This Page