Gta3--help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kenny Goldin, Feb 14, 2002.

  1. Kenny Goldin

    Kenny Goldin Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason, I saved the game, and it will not load! I just finished the mission where You have to kill 8 SPANK dealers for the dude in the Casino
    . I saved it, and everytime I try to load it, it freezes! When I start a new game and try to load it, it says "Load Failed! Check memory card (ps2) in MEMORY CARD slot 1 and plaease try again."

    I tried copying the data to anotehr card and nothing works. I really do not want to do that much of the game again! I had 15,000+ kills and way more than a million dollars.

    If the data cannot be restored, does anyone know of a cheat so I can automatically win missions? I thought I saw one a while back, but now I cannot find it. I am REALLY MAD.

    I will be grateful if someone can help me out..PLEASE!
     
  2. Alex Spindler

    Alex Spindler Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2000
    Messages:
    3,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bummer man. Sounds like unrecoverable data loss.
    As for cheats:
    GameFAQs has most everything I've seen. None that specifically win missions for you, but several that will make the missions a snap.
     
  3. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Sorry, but it does sound like you are stuck with a worthless save. Out of curiosity, do you have a Sony Brand memory card? Does the card still work for other data you have stored on it?
     
  4. Chris T. Kennedy

    Chris T. Kennedy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude! That sucks!
    I don't think it'll help you, but I lost a PS1 memory card three days ago which included:
    35 hours of Final Fantasy IX
    8 hours of Parasite Eve
    and about 2 hours of Megaman 8
    [​IMG]
    Sucks....it was off-brand.
    Anyway - did you try crossing your fingers and trying it in slot 2? Maybe a friends PS2?
    I am not saying it is your PS2....but sometimes there is that lucky chance that you can somehow get the data to load off of it. If you do, immediately save it to another memory card.
    Good luck,
    Chris
     
  5. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know that one, Chris. I have 3 PSX memcards - one official, two cheap thirdparty ones. 2 memcards recently wiped themselves completely to the point where they were unreadable. I lost my MGS data, Vandal hearts 2 (I was at the LAST battle!), Xenogears, Front Mission 3 & a bunch more.

    Guess which 2 memory cards out of my 3 they were...

    I no longer buy unofficial memory cards.
     
  6. Derrik Draven

    Derrik Draven Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 1998
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Chris
    Kenny - in a word, you're fucked. [​IMG]
    But, if it makes you feel any better at all, the exact same thing happened to me a few months ago.
    Only difference, I was MUCH further into the game and had to restart the entire thing all over again. That was VERY hard to do as I'm sure you're coming to grips with.
    I think the mental toll is what is the hardest. Not so much the difficulty in the levels but, the difficulty of thinking, "...not again"?
    Anyhoo, BrianB sums it up pretty good. Use only the official PS2 cards from Sony. Sometimes, myself included, people will think that the original manufacturer is just screwing us out of $$$. I mean, hell...it's just a memory card. But, it appears that the Sony cards are actually much better...somehow.
    You know, the real bummer for me was that I didn't mean to move my save file from GTA3 to the aftermarket card. It was an accident. I meant to move the Gran Turismo 3 file to it. All I did was simply (accidentally) move the GTA3 file, realize the mistake, move it right back into the Sony card and, WHAM!!!! Instant do the game over from the beginning, syndrome.
    ...it sucks dude. Enjoy! [​IMG]
     
  7. Kenny Goldin

    Kenny Goldin Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortuantely, I am using an official Sony memory card. I learned w/ my N64 never to buy 3rd part hardware. It really is a bummer. Luckily I have nothing to do until Monday so maybe I can catch up. [​IMG]
    I don;t know what happened though--I just saved as normal, and the system froze. I let it sit for a few minutes and just had to reboot...then it would eitehr freeze when trying to load the newsest save as it does on startup, or if I went back to an older one and tried to load, I got the load afiled message.
    I think the easiest way without having a cheat that passes the missin altogether (though I swear I saw a cheat that did just that a while ago) is to just make 12 tanks appear and then all the cars are off the road which gives you a clear path.
     
  8. Kenny Goldin

    Kenny Goldin Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I started a new game, and at about the same point in the game, it did the same thing. It was on a different mission, but I completed a few more in a different point in the game so the total # of missions was probably the same.

    Does this sound like a faulty game? BTW, I did not save this time around on the card that had the first bad data--this was another one and as I said above, all I have are the offical black Sony 8 MB cards.

    I am going to try another copy. My first save had been when I rented the game a few times and I had just recently bought it and I was continung from the saves off the rental.

    One thing I THINK was maybe the problem--I saved with a bunch of tanks I made appear so ther ewould be no cars on the road (I just could not complete the mission where you have to get to all the payphones in a certain number of times
    with all the cars on the road.

    Afer getting through the game again on the second card, I am pretty sure it messed up in this same scenario with all the tanks. Maybe I should make sure to use the "destoy all vehicles" cheat before I save?

    However, I started a new game and got all the cars off the road and just did the first 5 or 6 missions with only tanks and saved after each mission and it never messed up.

    I am pretty sure the game itself was a bad disc, but to be safe I will use the destroy all cars cheat in the future before saving.

    (p.s.--I only cheat after I try the mission quite a few times and it gets frustrating).
     
  9. Dave F

    Dave F Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 15, 1999
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Almost all bad save problems that I have heard of on GTA3 have been related to running a cheat or stuffing too many cars into a garage (I do that one all the time though).

    -Dave
     
  10. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, a lot of the more esoteric cheat codes are NOT save friendly. Use 'em, save the game, and you may find yourself with one screwed up savegame...
     
  11. Kenny Goldin

    Kenny Goldin Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think I should be OK if I use a cheat then undo it before I save (i.e. get all the cars off the steets with the tanks, and then blow up all vehicles cheat to get it back to normal? When I try that I will save it to a different card just to make sure...
     
  12. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The perfect place for detailed GTA questions/help is Gouranga!, the 'unofficial official' GTA site.
     

Share This Page