What's new

Grrr - Glossy screens! (1 Viewer)

Eric_L

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric
I've been browsing for a RPTV for a few months now - but actually seriously looking just for a week or so. (My home restoration is only days from complete! WOOT!) I have notices that there are MANY screens, DLP - PLASMA and CRT which are quite reflective - glossy! It is like watching TV in a mirror. I can't believe the manufacturers are churning this out! I've even seen some which include the words 'anti glare screen' on the lable yet are reflective enough to trim your nosehairs in! ARGH!

I'm looking for a RPTV for my livingroom and I've been looking alot online and at B+M. Trouble is - there really is no way to determine if the viewscreen is reflective without looking at it - few product descriptions mention the mirror-like reflectiveness of the screens.

Does anyone know of a way to determine what screens are reflective? I would appreciate any insight. This TV is going to be for regular viewing - mostly for the kids. I have a projector+screen for movie night. So I really want to go on the cheap. The reflectiveness of the screen is my only objection to any TV. Looking for 50" or more - the built in entertainment center is huge. A small TV would dissappear in it.
Thanks!

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter
Agree with Arthur. You want a set that throws off a lot of light. A CRT RP, especially when calibrated correctly, is going to be overwhelmed by ambient light and show a lot of glare. I bought a Hitachi CRT RP because it had the best picture in my price range. I knew it was also the most prone to reflections, but I had it in my basement dedicated HT room so I could control it. If I were buying a set for a room where the lights would often be on, or if there were lots of windows, I'd go LCD or DLP.

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
making an RPTV non-reflective is something of a trick.