What's new

Group delay query (Sealed vs vented Tempest sub design) (1 Viewer)

MarkJD

Auditioning
Hi

I'm a complete newbie at this stuff, so please bear with me.

I built a couple of vented 300 liter sonosubs tuned to 16Hz based on the Adire Audio "Tempest" driver last year. They sound terrific for home theater. By accident rather than by design, the subs look to be similar in LSPCad's "Free air SPL at 1m distance" to Adire's "Vented EBS Box" design.

Adire state that their vented EBS box is designed for audiophile bass. I am interested in opinions of the difference between Adire's sealed Q=.577 design and their vented EBS box. In particular, the group delay of both subs don't appear to have significant differences at above 20Hz.

If I were to build one of Adire's desinged sealed Q=.577, how would it sound different from their vented EBS design?

Thanks

Mark

Richard Greene

Stunt Coordinator
I doubt if you will hear from anyone who has built both a sealed and ported Tempest subwoofer.

I built a sealed Tempest in a 230 liter enclosure stuffed with eight pounds of polyfill which should result in a Qtc in the neighborhood of 0.577. A sealed Tempest will have significantly less bass below 30Hz. than a ported Tempest unless equalized to boost bass below 30Hz.

Concerning any differences in group delay (that are probably less than 20 milliseconds) -- here are several factors that would interfere with your ability to hear these group delay differences:

(1) Sound coming from the main speakers masks the sound coming from the subwoofers

(2) Room bass resonances will cause bass frequency response deviations in the neighborhood of +/- 10dB or more (deviations can usually be cut in half by using a parametric equalizer)

(3) Room ringing (slow decay) at several room bass resonance frequencies will last perhaps 200 milliseconds until the sound attenuates by 30dB