grounding question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brady B, Sep 25, 2001.

  1. Brady B

    Brady B Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what would be the proper way to ground the dish if installed on my condominium deck. I don't have any of the suggestions for grounding points as I am on the second floor
    Thanks
    Brady
     
  2. Brian Mello

    Brian Mello Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IMO, don't worry about grounding it. Worry more about surge protecting your HT equipment.
     
  3. KenA

    KenA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massapequa, NY
    Real Name:
    Ken Appell
    Brian is right. I just had a Dish 500 installed and they ran a ground wire to my garden hose spiget. There was a terrible hum in my receiver and a black band going through my picture tube. I plugged the satelite coax cable into a surge protector that I picked up at Home Depot and it all went away.
    ------------------
    »ken«
     
  4. David Ely

    David Ely Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ken,
    What is the make/model of the surge protector you purchased at Home Depot?
    [Edited last by David Ely on October 02, 2001 at 01:33 AM]
     

Share This Page