ground loop hum?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Richard Moya, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. Richard Moya

    Richard Moya Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting hum from my amp now that my DSS is installed. Here is my setup:
    Dish on roof--dish itself is not grounded.
    Coax run about 40' to get closer to main ground rod. Coax plugs into ground block and 12awg solid copper wire goes into main rod. There seems to be 2 other very thick wires connected there as well, but I got it in the clamp along with the other wires.
    From ground block, my coax goes into attic then down wall to wall plate and into surge protector, then into my Sat receiver.
    When I turn my receiver pretty high (-25 db) I hear a distinct hum that I NEVER had before.
    Am I grounded properly? Any ideas?
     
  2. Chuck Paskovics

    Chuck Paskovics Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a ground problem. Maybe you need a ground loop isolator? Just a thought.
     
  3. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the suggested fix of converting my cable TV feed from 300 to 75 then back to 300 ohms (or maybe it's vice versa).

    Merc had a link a while ago.

    Took the cheaters off my amps, and I have to admit, I was really surprised that the hum was gone.

    No problems with the digital part of the cable TV feed either (some people have mentioned this).

    The best part? It was free. I already had the converters in my "big bag of audio/video stuff." Extra cables, etc.
     
  4. Jeffrey Chin

    Jeffrey Chin Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 22, 2001
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    goto hometech.com and buy the xantech 63400 ground breaker

    the budget alternative was also mentioned..
    75ohm --> 300ohm --> 75ohm
     

Share This Page