What's new

Greetings All - (newbie) (1 Viewer)

Hello to all. I'm about to embark on my home theater project and was glad to find this forum. I'll be going through it thoroughly and then asking some questions.

I'll introduce myself. I'm in Kentucky, just outside Cincinnati. My background is in the motion picture industry. I've managed hard-top and drive-in theatres and worked in projection booths from fully automatied multi-plexes to fully manual, carbon-arc systems. Currently, I'm a part owner of an independent, historic theatre and serve as the technical director there.

My experience with audio translates well to home theatre since most of the home theater stuff is technology transferred from the big screen. Once you've selected a system, installed it, and balanced the channels over a 400+ seat house, the family room is easy.

My weakness is probably on the image side. 35mm motion picture format, obviously, is not what has transferred into the home. I may be ahead of the curve in that I understand the basics of projection, ambient light, and how light reacts.

Still, I find myself "in the dark" on the home theater stuff. Hopefully this will be the place for your humble newbie to find information without being tainted by sales pitch from some salesman wanting to push junk he gets a big bonus for.

My theater will be based on a rear-mount DLP projector. My basement has the perfect unfinished area behind the wall. It's an area with no windows whatsoever. I plan to cut out the wall and frame in a screen.

Right now I'm leaning towards a Sharp DLP projector. The DT-200 seems to be the one for me.

Any initial thoughts or reactions are appreciated; but I'll read through the forum to see if my questions have already been answered before I start asking specific things.

Thanks in advance to any and all...

Mike

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Glad to have another projectionist aboard, Mike. Welcome.