What's new

Pre-Order Grease (1978) (4k UHD) Available for Preorder (1 Viewer)

Blimpoy06

Screenwriter
Real Name
Darin
I'm no expert on the film, but apparently the last time the original audio appeared on home video was on VHS and laserdisc. It seems that at some stage they started to substitute the recordings from the album. More processed and reverb added. I wonder if any effort will be taken to restore the original audio?

Lord Dalek

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joel Henderson
I'm no expert on the film, but apparently the last time the original audio appeared on home video was on VHS and laserdisc. It seems that at some stage they started to substitute the recordings from the album. More processed and reverb added. I wonder if any effort will be taken to restore the original audio?
Probably not. Randal Kleiser was directly responsible for that remix (done in 1998 for the film's last reissue) and unless somebody at Paramount pulls a 4.1 out of the vault, we're stuck with it.

...and even if they did, the usual faction of this forum would boycott over lack of Atmos.

Last edited:

B-ROLL

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Bryan
Probably not. Randal Kleiser was directly responsible for that remix (done in 1998 for the film's last reissue) and unless somebody at Paramount pulls a 4.1 out of the vault, we're stuck with it.

...and even if they did, the usual faction of this forum would boycott over lack of Atmos.
NO 3D no sale ;) !

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
40 Years Later, It’s Still the Word

GREASE

Relive the Classic ‘50s Celebration with a New 40th Anniversary Edition Featuring Fully Restored Picture and Sound and New Bonus Content on 4K Ultra HD, Blu-ray™, DVD and Digital April 24, 2018