What's new

Got my VTF-2, now I have a few questions (1 Viewer)

Ted Ross

Second Unit
Finally after trying many subs I found out that a small local dealer sold the HSU VTF-2. I returned my Velo CHT-12 & went over to the shop & bought the vtf-2. As of right now I cant tell the difference between the 2, obviously I need to adjust the HSU. 1st off I need to buy a SPL meter-thats a must. 2nd, I have read many posts here where the HSU owners say they have their volume knob set to the 10 o'clock position(thats not even halfway-right?), -also what level do you guys have your receiver sub level set at? I have a Yamaha RX-V1000 & it adjusts in increments of .5db from 0 to -.05 to -1.0...etc all the way down to -14.0 db(not positive on this one)-I have no idea how to go about this(Im a newbie at properly calibrating a HT setup). Also, I watch 75% movies & 25% music-should i have the plug in or out-Im still fuzzy on what this does. Thats all I can think of right now-Im sure Ill have so more questions later. Thanks for your guys help-this forum has been most helpful

DanaA

Screenwriter
As far as the volume, I have my Hsu at around the 9:30 position and the setting on my Onkyo 696 at -10dB. You will need something like a Radio Shack sound meter to callibrate the sub. A little tweak that I heard yesterday that really seems to help is to place something hard underneath the Hsu which would improve its performance. I bought a 16" by 16" tile from Home Depot. This is only important if you're laying the sub on tile. After searching for posts both here and on other sites, I ended up buying a Rhino cable for the thing and, in my opinion, it results in a better defined sound, but this is only my opinion. I'm no expert on these things. Finally, take the time using Virgil Fox to break the thing in properly. All in all, there is a huge difference between how my Hsu sounds now and when I first turned it on.

DanaA

Screenwriter