What's new

got a progressive scan DVD player, need some help (1 Viewer)

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Hey all, I recently bought a new HDTV (Tosh 30HF85) and an upconverting progressive scan DVD player (Tosh SD-5980) to go with it. I calibrated it myself and it looks great. After watching DVD's for the past 5 years on a 4:3 analog television I'm nothing short of amazed with the PQ of DVD's in widescreen and progressive scan, it's like rewatching my collection in a whole new light.

That said I do have a couple quirks which are bugging me, unfortunately I'm a newbie to the HD and progressive scan stuff so I'm hoping that a more experienced person can give me some insight on how to solve thse couple minor quirks.

The biggest thing bothering me is a slight flickering that I will sometimes see on a DVD. The flickering occurs only in dark scenes and will manifest itself in the form of either a slight flickering in dark scenes or a slight bright line that goes through a dark scene quick and disappears. The flickering stuff is very slight and is barely noticeable but it is bothersome to me nonetheless. I'm using HDMI to connect the DVD player and I have my DVD player set for progressive scan and 16:9. I've been watching my DVD's in 1080i mode since that is what my television can do natively. The two discs where I've noticed this thus far were LOTR: FOTR and Goodfellas:SE it was very noticeable and quite bad on Goodfellas but on LOTR it was a very small problem on an otherwise beautiful disc.