What's new

Good sub to go with JBL NSP1's? (1 Viewer)

Patrick Masciocchi

Auditioning
Hi all,
I'm a rather newbie when it comes to home audio. I've been doing car audio for about 3 years now, but when it comes to home audio I am completely oblivious. I was doing some research to find some good surround speakers for under $300 and decided to go with the JBL NSP1's as a result of a lot of good recommendations by you guys at HTF. I'd now like to find a subwoofer to go with them. The receiver I am going to use to power all of this is a Toshiba SD-6109C.
I have used a pair of 12" Adire Audio Shiva's in a few of my car installs and I love the way they sound. Excellent response, and very affordable pricetag. I actually have a pair lying around right now and I'd like to use one of them in my room to go with the JBL's, but I don't know where to purchase a home amp for the sub. Where might I find an amp for this sub, and what exactly would I need to connect the amp to the sub? Would adding the Shiva to the JBL setup be a good match?
Besides the Shiva, if I were to buy a sub that allready had an amplifier, and didn't want to spend more than $150-200 on it, what would you suggest?
Thanks all for the help in advance. I look forward to your suggestions!
Patrick

Sean Conklin

Screenwriter
While the SA-WM40 is a good bang for the buck sub, I would spend the extra $100 and go with the JBL PB-12(twice the power, and twice the bang)Heres a link for $249 and with some searching may be able to get it cheaper.
Oh and welcome to the HTF!
------------------
Sean
[Edited last by Sean Conklin on November 13, 2001 at 01:16 AM]

Len Cheong

Second Unit