Good speaker kits

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marc Bodin, Aug 4, 2002.

1. Marc Bodin

Marc Bodin Extra

Hi there,

I am new to home theater. I don't know much about quality brands in home stereo equipment at all. I would like to build a set of mains this fall and am trying to get the best options. Can someone please suggest some good kits out there? I would like to keep the cost reasonable. Should I possibly design my own? So far I have looked at Audax, Adire, and GR research. Thanks.

2. Bob Bartlett

Bob Bartlett Stunt Coordinator

I recently finished the RC2 from Rick Craig at selahaudio.com and I love them. Check them out at his site. He is also very helpful with any questions you might have.

3. Rob Lloyd

Rob Lloyd Stunt Coordinator

I just finished the Adire 281s vented and their LCC. Also finished a pair of the GR Research A/V1+s.

I have not had a chance to compare them properly (side by side) but so far they all sound great.

Others have said that the 281s would be better for HT in a large room as they can handle the extra volume needed better than the A/V1+s. I cannot comment on this myself yet.

They are all excellent kits. Both companies are great to deal with via email or the phone. Both stand behind their product very well after the sale with any question you can throw at them.

4. Hank Frankenberg

Hank Frankenberg Cinematographer

Marc, it depends (as always) on your budget. After you've read threads on various forums to get the flavor of comments about the various "brands", you'll be a bit better prepared. BUT, there's nothing like listening to the real thing. Try to find people in your area who have built some kits and would let you listen to them. For good sound at a bargain price, I haven't seen better value than Sound Clearing House: http://www.speakerpage.com/ A pair of their monitors would be a great start for you, and later you could move up to something from GR Research, for instance: