good pair of 12" floor standing speakers for under $400?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joe_Brown, Dec 26, 2001.

1. Joe_Brown

Joe_Brown Auditioning

hey guys i am looking for a good, well decent i guess, pair of 12" floor standing speakers for around $400....i was checking out the DCM DCM12A 12" speakers, i can get a pair of them for like $350....what do you guys think? need to handle atleast 100w rms....

2. Joe_Brown

Joe_Brown Auditioning

i am a newbie i guess i should add to

3. John Royster

John Royster Screenwriter

Welcome to the forum Joe_Brown!
    Are you talking about a floor standing speaker with a 12" woofer or are you talking about a 12" tall speaker. I don't think they make any 12" tall floor speakers, kind of hard to get my ears level with the tweeters that way. [​IMG]

4. Joe_Brown

Joe_Brown Auditioning

heh.....talkin bout a 12" woofer....i am on a tight budget, i see people here talking about buying $10,000 pairs of speakers.....hehe.....cant afford that right now....i just want something decent for my bedroom to jam some metallica =]

5. John Royster

So what I'm hearing is you want a speaker to rock? Loud, slammin bass/guitars for under $500. Sounds like Klipsch speakers to me - man are they loud. I'm not to familiar with their newer model line so I can't recommend ones. See if you can listen to some in a store and bring your favorite tunes.

6. Joe_Brown

Joe_Brown Auditioning

neat, i am gonna buy some generic sony center channel and surround sound speaker combo thing to, for like super cheap, i dont care, they'll work for me, this stuff will just be in my bedroom....

whats a good reciever for around $250 that will pump out atleast 100w per channel to 5 channels..........5.1 setup right? center, rear left, rear right, front left, front right....i think.....

7. BryanZ

BryanZ Screenwriter

Joe,