What's new

Good 2 channel preamp with pass through? (1 Viewer)

Peter Loan

Second Unit
I currently own an Outlaw 950 and I'm looking to improve my two channel performance. Is there such thing as a clean sounding two channel preamp that will pass through the Outlaw's signal when I want to decode in 5.1? Actually, couldn't I just hook up the Outlaw's front two channels into one of the preamp's analog inputs?

Doug_B

Screenwriter
Yes, some 2 ch preamps have what's called a HT bypass input, which provides unity gain for the Outlaw's 2 channels that you send to it. Similar functionality may be provided by other 2 ch amps. Then just connect your 2 ch sources directly to the other 2 ch inputs of the preamp and your 2 main amp channels to the preamp's 2 ch outputs, and you're ready to go.

Others can chime in on specific Brands and Models; Sonic Frontiers, Rogue, and the like. I have no experience with them (yet). However, if you're looking for a discernible difference relative to the 2 ch performance of the Outlaw, you may want to consider a tube-based preamp. However, I have no experience in this, either.

Doug

Marc H

Second Unit
Adcom GFP750
Stereophile 'Class A' recommended. Absolutely neutral sound in either passive or active mode.
I've got one and love it.

Ricky T

Supporting Actor
Peter,

I have been using the Rogue 66 Magnum 66 tube preamp with HT unity gain bypass (one flick of a switch, and you can even turn the Rogue OFF when not using it). Retail $1649 with the magnum version and HT unity gain. My version has the remote control (with the 66, you either get the remote or phono, but not both).

I sent you a private message.

www.rogueaudio.com

Peter Loan

Second Unit
I'm looking for something hopefully below $500 used. DO these preamps have any form of bass management?

Scott Oliver

Screenwriter