What's new

Going under the knife for the first time... (1 Viewer)

Andrew_Sch

Senior HTF Member
As the thread title indicates, I'm going to be undergoing my first surgical procedure next week to remove a cyst near my butt. It's really no big deal, just an outpatient procedure, but being as this is my first time having any type of surgery, I'm still a bit nervous. Offer me some encouragement, if you please.:frowning:

Jason Seaver

Senior HTF Member
If it's a pilonidal, let me just say from experience that you won't feel a thing and that it's totally worth it, especially vs. not being able to stand, sit, or lie down without discomfort.

Andrew_Sch

Senior HTF Member
The thing that really bugs me is that I have to be at the hospital at 6:30 am...ugh. They probably won't need to put me to sleep, I'll just fall asleep anyway.

Aurel Savin

Supporting Actor
The best thing about surgery is the anasthesia :)
Try to consciouls stay awake while they make you count backwards ... you are out like a log after 3 seconds.
Which always made me wonder ...
What kind of sleep do you go into under anasthesia?
I know it's not "regular" sleep, because if anybody was to cut into you, you would wake up right away ... let alone someone trying to perform heart surgery.
Anybody have any insight on this ... on how come you do not feel or respond o anything during this "sleep"???
BTW: Andrew ... you will be fine. Sounds like the end result will save you a lot of discomfort.

Jason Seaver

Senior HTF Member
If it's like mine, they won't actually knock you out, but you'll be pretty dopey anyway. I was pretty out of it.

And I have no idea why these things are always scheduled for early morning, other than making sure the restaurants are open when the patient's head clears and he's starving from not being able to eat anything for 24 hours.

Jefferson

Supporting Actor