Going to the UK, What do I need for Xbox?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Chad Seymour, Jul 26, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all,

    I'm getting sent over to the UK for work next week. I'll be there for 2 months. I'd like to take my Xbox with me. What will I need to do that? I'm assuming wherever I stay will have a TV. Will I need any special converter for either signal or power? WIll Xbox Live work if I have highspeed internet in my room?

    Chad
     
  2. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody?
     
  3. Jonathan Carter

    Jonathan Carter Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, your tv over there will probably be a pal system so you'll need a convertor to take your NTSC Xbox signal and convert it into a PAL signal the TV will recognize. The downside is the cheapest convertor I've seen is at least $90, there may be cheaper ones, I've just never seen them.
     
  4. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are UK Xbox's different or is it just the cable to connect to the TV?

    Chad
     
  5. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You'll need a power converter. UK XBoxes won't run US Xbox games (and vice versa) generally.
     
  6. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got a power converter, and a US Xbox with US games. The coax plug on the TV is different than a US plug. If I buy a UK Xbox Rf adapter with the correct type of plug, can I plug in and run my Xbox?

    Chad
     
  7. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe RF won't work - you need composite. And even then, it depends on the TV supporting 60Hz which most modern UK TVs will do.
     
  8. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably won't work them. My TV in my hotel room only has a coax input. No composite input. Damn, drug my Xbox all the way across the ocean for nothing.

    Chad
     
  9. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a vcr in the room? Some hotels have them there, that could be an option.
     
  10. Devin U

    Devin U Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can probably get a SCART XBOx cable to hook up audio/video. Most tvs over there use SCART. Check ebay or a electronics store when you get there.
     
  11. Chad Seymour

    Chad Seymour Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, no VCR, no SCART connection. Just coax in.
     
  12. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PS2 has the coax adapter, I'd think Xbox would have the same thing.
     
  13. Jonathan Carter

    Jonathan Carter Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They do, it's the RF adaptor.
     

Share This Page