Going from Win2000 Dell to WinNT MPro...What are my concerns?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MarkHastings, Jul 7, 2003.

1. MarkHastings

MarkHastings Executive Producer

My Win2000 computer (A Dell Dimension 8100) is having major difficulties with it's hardware, so I am having it replaced. My company can't afford a new one right now so they are giving me an IBM-MPro loaded with WinNT. Our current AVID systems have been updated and all of the MPro's (which they were using for the AVIDs) are being distributed to those who need new computers.

I am more of a Mac person and I have been learning a bit about PCs for the past 6 years now. I have never used NT because I used to hear horror stories about it being incompatible with a lot of the programs I use. I mostly work with apps like Photoshop, Premiere, Illustrator, Media Cleaner, Dreamweaver, Director, Quark XPress, and Flash.

What issues do I have to look out for? Our IT guy said that anything that runs on my Win2000 system will work on the NT. Is that true?

I always thought that USB wasn't compatible with NT (or was that a long time ago?). Can I also use my Firewire card? Isn't there also certain video issues? Like, do Windows Media Video files play on NT? I thought I read that they weren't.

Hopefully I can find out these issues in advance before I get the system and run into nightmares.

2. Craig S

Craig S Producer
    Supporter

Craig Seanor
    I used NT 4 for a long time (starting in 1997), and am now using Win2000 Pro (which is actually NT 5 for all practival purposes). NT 4 was a pretty solid OS in its day (especially for businesses), but going from Win2000 back to NT is going to be painful.

3. Chris

Chris Lead Actor