Getting that second browser window to open up to the right size - and STAY THAT WAY?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ronald Epstein, Aug 18, 2003.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Just reformatted my computer and reinstalled XP Pro.

    Whenever I open a second window in my Internet
    Explorer browser, that window always opens way too
    small and I have to keep enlarging it.

    Is there any way to set the parameters on these
    browser windows so that they open full every time?

    Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe Rob Gillespie gave us this answer a while back. Open the window, resize it to your liking, then close it while holding down the CONTROL key. Should open up the way you closed it.
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Nope - doesn't work.
     
  4. LewB

    LewB Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I suggest Netscape 7.1 or Mozilla? They allow you to open multiple tabs on the same page and have built in pop-up prevention code. On the down side, some web pages just don't work with these browsers.
     
  5. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open ONE window, then do the CTRL trick mentioned earlier.

    If you have more than one open it gets it's knickers in a twist.
     
  6. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have to use Ctrl? For me, the size and position of the last window I close is used the next time I start IE. After that, File | New | Window (Ctrl+N) will open another window just below and to the right, same size.

    When you click on some JavaScript links, they often will open the window at a certain hard-coded size. For whatever reason a lot of them are just a wee bit too small.

    //Ken
     
  7. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    None of the above suggestions worked.

    Whenever I open a new window it opems tiny.

    No big deal....and no thanks to Netscape or
    Mozilla.
     
  8. Jesse Leonard

    Jesse Leonard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are talking about clicking on an icon (shortcut) to open a new window then it is easy. Just right-click the icon and choose properties. Go to the Shortcut tab. In the Run: drop down box, choose Maximize. Then click OK. Now everytime you click the icon it will lauch the window maximized.

    If you are talking about clicking on a link and having it open a new window then it is almost impossible. The best way is to click on a link to open a new window. Then stretch this window to be almost maximized (but don't click the maximized button). Then close the window. New windows should now open to this almost maximized position.
     
  9. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,215
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
     
  10. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just as a reference for those wondering the same thing using XP... I just resized my IE window to a different one, held down the control key and closed it. Re-opened IE and it was the same size as when I closed it.

    Not sure why that method didn't work for you Ron. [​IMG]
     
  11. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and I'm not sure why anyone would use IE over mozilla these days... [​IMG]
     
  12. BenSC

    BenSC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The trick is to only have one IE window open. Doesn't matter if you use control, click on a link, or not. With no other IE's open, open a new window, resize, then close. From then out they should all be the right size.
     
  13. Kevin-M

    Kevin-M Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also fix it this way:

    Right click on an IE shortcut(a true shortcut, not the default one that takes you straight to the IE preferences window). In the location bar that points to the location of the IE executable, add " -k" (without the quotes) to the end of that line. Close the shortcut properties. Now when you start IE, it will be in full screen mode. Open any link in a new window and it will be maximized. Alt-F4 out of IE, remove the " -k" from the shortcut, and when you restart all new windows opened will be maximized.

    A couple extra steps, but it works for those that can't get the manual-maximize method to work.
     

Share This Page