What's new

Getting Started????? (1 Viewer)

Wil_J

Stunt Coordinator
Ok guys, as I'm sure you can tell, I'm a newbie to all of this home audio stuff. I have a little background in Car Audio, but I'm sure that it's not the same.
My question is this, 'Where should I start?' I don't know anything about building a decent home theater/audio system.
My priorities that I want of this system are as follows:
1. Best for MUSIC listening
2. I still want a decent sounding surround sound though.
Anything else you guys need to know, please tell me. I want to learn how to do this, but there seem to be so many things that I don't know. Like, what kinds of hardware there are (besides speakers, I know I will need those already), and what kind of hardware I will need for the type of system that I want.
That about sums up my situation right now, any help would be apprieciated...........Wil

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
what kind of budget do you have? without knowing that it'll be hard to make recommendations. i'll assume you're an "average" consumer:
1. get a decent receiver. brands i like include outlaw audio, denon, yamaha & onkyo (which i have). my experience with denon's say that brand will give you the best 2-channel sound. i'd probably stay clear of most other "mainstream" recievers, but that's personal preference.
2. if you stick with the above mentioned receivers, you'll probably want something in the 60-100 watt/ch range. with those brands, you can trust their wattage ratings to be reasonably accurate.
3. be willing to spend a fair amount of your budget on the speakers. some people say 1/3rd, but i don't know if that's a good rule. you can find some really good sounding speakers for not too much money. brands i'd look at include paradigm, energy, polk, klipsch, energy, psb, definitive technology, etc. those are fairly well-respected brands and i think they can fit into almost anyone's (high or low) budget.