getting into it all

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ben_Hud, Dec 19, 2002.

1. Ben_Hud

Ben_Hud Stunt Coordinator

hey, im just getting into HTF.

Whats the real diference between traditional use of recievers and speakers compared to the new multimedia surround sound stuff (multiple inputs for both component and optical)like Klisph and Logitechs 5.1 (whos control sys, is much smaller than traditional recievers, but has digital decoding) systems (THX, DTS, dobly dig and all certified).

Ben Hudson, aim: topluck

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Are you talking about Music vs HT, or living room system vs computer system?

These are very broad things, but I'll focus on speakers:

Music speakers are about accuracy.

HT speakers are about impact.

Computer speakers are about .. video games and hybred, single-user HT systems.

Is this what you were talking about?

3. Ben_Hud

Ben_Hud Stunt Coordinator

ya thanks, points me in the right direction.

to answer the useage question well i wanted to use it for both my computer system and living room (in same room so figure can both use same speakers). I would like to use them for movies, games, and music (in that order). So I guess I should focus on a HQ computer speaker since they are considered hybrid.

4. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

No, computer speakers are quite inferior indeed. They are small, self-powered usually, and generally poor sounding. Now, I am looking here specifically at Logitech's 5.1 Z-680s setup. My first reaction was "no, 5.1 speaker setups dont "do" dolby digital, they market them as being dolby digital ready." Dolby digital ready essentially means nothing. And so I was quickly proven wrong as they have: