Get new laptop on cable?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jereme D, May 14, 2002.

  1. Jereme D

    Jereme D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just aquired a Gateway Solo 2550 laptop. Is it possible to get this on a network with my cable modem? It doesn't need to be wireless. They do not both need to be able to access the internet simultaneously, but that would be nice. What do I need to buy?
     
  2. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    The easiest way is to get a router. The outbound port on the router would connect to your cable modem, then your computer(s) would connect to the inbound ports.

    You can even get a wireless router and a wireless PC card if you want to go wireless with your laptop.

    You can get routers at Best Buy or wherever you buy computer stuff.

    KJP
     
  3. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    for the laptop itself, if it doesn't have a built in rj45 connector input, then buy a 10/100 PCMCIA network card. The router will let you connect to your modem buy pulling a dhcp ip address. And with a router, you can have two computers on at once, but you are going to share the bandwidth you are paying for. A hub, will let you share also, but you will grab two IP's from your provider instead of just one if both are running at the same time, and this may not be acceptable to the provider.
     
  4. Jereme D

    Jereme D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    both work great. Only thing I would be careful with, is to make sure that the network card comes with a dongle. The sell all in one cards, I think 3com, with rj11, and rj45 on the same card, they take both pcmcia slots on your laptop, but you don't need a dongle, you plug right in. But, that will work ok.
     
  6. Jereme D

    Jereme D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of the help and suggestions. :)

    Do you have a suggestion for a wireless router and modem, Buzz?
     

Share This Page