What's new

Genre question: RPG's? (1 Viewer)

Jeff Ashforth

Stunt Coordinator
What gameplay characteristics classify a game as an RPG?

I understand about the non-video game RPG's like D&D, but I sort of thought all video games were at least quasi-RPG in nature, given that you are assuming a character and taking that character through multiple levels etc.

I'm new to next-gen console gaming (the last console I owned was a Sega Genesis)and the first next-generation PC game I've ever played was Max Payne, so that should tell you enough about my perspective: NEWBIE.;) I'm trying to get an idea of what else is out there and what I might be into besides 3rd person shooters.

Other questions about RPG's:

Do they contain Action/Combat?

Do they utilize Stealth/Strategy?

The reason I ask these questions is that so far, I really dig these aspects of current games like MGS2 and DMC etc.

What are some examples of the best RPG's for PS1/PS2 that include some of the above traits?

Thanks for helping a Console gaming newbie.

Woo Jae

Screenwriter
Usually, (I lurk at GameFAQs Message boards,) this kind of topic ends with a flame war/shouting match between fans of PC RPGs and Console RPGs with an occasional enjoyer of both popping in with a snide comment or two.

I guess I would say that there are two major types of RPGs as the term is commonly used:

PC RPGs - which offers the player endless or a high level of customization of their character/party, with large explorable world and sometimes a story.

Console RPGs - which offers the player a chance to play through as a fixed character in a fixed story. Usually, the production values and good storylines make this a fun, along with a new type of battle system for each game. The origin of this type of game was Dragonquest or Dragon Warrior on the NES, followed by Final Fantasy.

As you noted, Pencil and Paper RPGs of course are the granddaddy of most RPG systems, and are still very valid if you have people to play with.