1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

General separates education

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jamie<>N, Oct 20, 2005.

1. Jamie<>N

Jamie<>N Auditioning

I'm new to anything beyond a home theater w/a receiver for controlling/amplification/etc. I've looked at the FAQ on this site, and I'm on my 3rd home theater book. I kind of have a vague grasp of what controllers/pre-pros/amps etc. do and their role when working with each other, but it's only that - a vague grasp. I want to learn more - I'd like to have a complete understanding of it all. I was wondering if anyone knows of a good beginner to advanced website that covers controllers/separates/pre-amps/amps/power-amps...this stuff has got me pretty confused. Also, I'd like to know what the best brands/models are for various price ranges (whatever they may be).
    While I'm at it, I'd like to know the best brands/models are for the various price ranges in receivers. I currently have a Pioneer VSX-812 and so far from what I've read...it's crappy compared to what's out there. I will be making an addition to my house in the next year or two, and one of the main reasons I'm doing it is so that I can have an actual home theater.
    And then the straight up question that I think I already know the answer to - separates...or receiver? From what I understand, separates is the way to go, right?

thanks so much everyone...I know I'm in good hands,
    Jamie

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Depends on your price range. Unless you are looking used, you aren't going to get into separates inexpensively, and even used you are still likely looking at about $1K-2K minimum, and that would probably be without some of the latest processing, depending on the model.

"Separates" would be a separate preamp/processor and amplifier, vs a receiver which is those two combined.

3. Alan M

Alan M Second Unit