What's new

General RPTV Picture Quality Question (1 Viewer)

Greg.J.G

Auditioning
I'm new to RPTV's. I've always had tubes but recently purchased an RPTV. I immediately noticed that the picture on it was very dull (colorwise) compared to my tube TV. Is this normal for an RPTV? My other TV is a cheap Sharp 25” that I only paid $200 for earlier this year and the picture quality is awesome. Colors are very vibrant.

I’ve sold that RPTV (which was only a couple weeks old) and bought an RPTV HDTV Widescreen, which hasn’t been delivered yet. But with that RPTV (the one I sold), I played around with the color settings (even used Digital Video Essentials to get the picture quality right) but it just didn’t look anywhere near as good as my 25”.

Tim Hess

Second Unit
How [B I G] was your RPTV? was it [16x9]? The smaller the set (when talking about tube or Direct View sets) will always be a better image (IMO).

If I could get a 47-50" [16x9] HDTV Direct View set, I would in a second.

Greg.J.G

Auditioning
The one I sold was a 43" 4:3 EDTV set. I had an HDTV OTA receiver hooked up to it through the 480p component port and even that didn't have the greatest colors.

The new one (which hasn't been delivered yet so can't comment on the picture) is a Samsung 42" 16:9 HDTV (reviews I read said it has an awesome picture).

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
Have you done a convergence (preferably a system level)?

Have you calibrated the set using Avia/V.E ?

Is the room the tv is in excessively bright?

All of these will effect the picture on an RPTV, the first 2 will help, the third will hurt. RPTV's are not as bright as tubes and require a bit of light management (no direct sunlight, lower overall light level in the room) for a superb picture.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
Greg, Jeff asks some good questions. You also need to consider them as far as your direct-view set was concerned.